Presidents of War
Books , Kindle Edition / August 9, 2018

Ten years in the research and writing, Presidents of War is a fresh, magisterial, intimate look at a procession of American leaders as they took the nation into conflict and mobilized their country for victory. It brings us into the room as they make the most difficult decisions that face any President, at times sending hundreds of thousands of American men and women to their deaths.

The Last Palace: Europe’s Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House
Books , Kindle Edition / August 4, 2018

A sweeping yet intimate narrative about the last hundred years of turbulent European history, as seen through one of Mitteleuropa’s greatest houses—and the lives of its occupants
 
When Norman Eisen moved into the US ambassador’s residence in Prague, returning to the land his mother had fled after the Holocaust, he was startled to discover swastikas hidden beneath the furniture in his new home. These symbols of Nazi Germany were remnants of the residence’s forgotten history, and evidence that we never live far from the past.

Ready Player One: A Novel
Books , Kindle Edition / July 22, 2018

In Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One, readers are introduced to Innovative Online Industries, the global communications and technology corporation that dominates the internet service industry through its administration of virtual world OASIS and the lucrative market of goods and services within it.

The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia
Books , Kindle Edition / July 21, 2018

Award-winning journalist Masha Gessen’s understanding of the events and forces that have wracked Russia in recent times is unparalleled. In The Future Is History, Gessen follows the lives of four people born at what promised to be the dawn of democracy. Each of them came of age with unprecedented expectations, some as the children and grandchildren of the very architects of the new Russia, each with newfound aspirations of their own–as entrepreneurs, activists, thinkers, and writers, sexual and social beings.

Shade: A Tale of Two Presidents
Books , Kindle Edition / July 12, 2018

From Pete Souza, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Obama: An Intimate Portrait, comes a powerful tribute to a bygone era of integrity in politics.

As Chief Official White House Photographer, Pete Souza spent more time alongside President Barack Obama than almost anyone else. His years photographing the President gave him an intimate behind-the-scenes view of the unique gravity of the Office of the Presidency–and the tremendous responsibility that comes with it.

The Death of Truth: Notes on Falsehood in the Age of Trump
Books , Kindle Edition / July 12, 2018

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning critic comes an impassioned critique of America’s retreat from reason

We live in a time when the very idea of objective truth is mocked and discounted by the occupants of the White House. Discredited conspiracy theories and ideologies have resurfaced, proven science is once more up for debate, and Russian propaganda floods our screens. The wisdom of the crowd has usurped research and expertise, and we are each left clinging to the beliefs that best confirm our biases.

The Corrosion of Conservatism: Why I Left the Right
Books , Kindle Edition / July 9, 2018

The Corrosion of Conservatism: Why I Left the Right: This title will be released on October 9, 2018. Warning that the Trump presidency presages America’s decline, the political commentator recounts his extraordinary journey from lifelong Republican to vehement Trump opponent. As nativism, xenophobia, vile racism, and assaults on the rule of law thre…

Talking to ‘Crazy’: How to Deal with the Irrational and Impossible People in Your Life
Books , Kindle Edition / July 8, 2018

“Finally! The book that helps you deal with irrational, impossible people.” —Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 Let’s face it, we all know people who are irrational. No matter how hard you try to reason with them, it never works. So what’s the solution? How do you talk to someone who’s out of control? What can you do with a boss who bullies, a spouse who yells, or a friend who frequently bursts into tears?

Everything Trump Touches Dies: A Republican Strategist Gets Real About the Worst President Ever
Books , Kindle Edition / July 7, 2018

In Everything Trump Touches Dies, political campaign strategist and commentator Rick Wilson brings his darkly funny humor and biting analysis to the absurdity of American politics in the age of Trump. Wilson mercilessly exposes the damage Trump has done to the country, to the Republican Party he served for decades, and to the conservative movement that has abandoned its principles for the worst President in American history.

Forty Autumns: A Family’s Story of Courage and Survival on Both Sides of the Berlin Wall
Books , Kindle Edition / July 3, 2018

In this illuminating and deeply moving memoir, a former American military intelligence officer goes beyond traditional Cold War espionage tales to tell the true story of her family—of five women separated by the Iron Curtain for more than forty years, and their miraculous reunion after the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Forty Autumns makes visceral the pain and longing of one family forced to live apart in a world divided by two. At twenty, Hanna escaped from East to West Germany. But the price of freedom—leaving behind her parents, eight siblings, and family home—was heartbreaking. Uprooted, Hanna eventually moved to America, where she settled down with her husband and had children of her own.

This Is an Uprising: How Nonviolent Revolt Is Shaping the Twenty-First Century
Books , Kindle Edition / July 3, 2018

There is a craft to uprising — and this craft can change the world

From protests around climate change and immigrant rights, to Occupy, the Arab Spring, and #BlackLivesMatter, a new generation is unleashing strategic nonviolent action to shape public debate and force political change. When mass movements erupt onto our television screens, the media consistently portrays them as being spontaneous and unpredictable. Yet, in this book, Mark and Paul Engler look at the hidden art behind such outbursts of protest, examining core principles that have been used to spark and guide moments of transformative unrest.

The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism
Books , Kindle Edition / June 26, 2018

The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism: The bestselling author of No Logo shows how the global “free market” has exploited crises and shock for three decades, from Chile to Iraq In her groundbreaking reporting over the past few years, Naomi Klein introduced the term “disaster capitalism.” Whether covering Baghdad after the U.S. occ…

The Despot’s Apprentice: Donald Trump’s Attack on Democracy
Books , Kindle Edition / June 25, 2018

The Despot’s Apprentice: Donald Trump’s Attack on Democracy: ”[A] primer on the threat to democracy posed by—and I can’t believe I’m saying this—the current president of the United States.” —David Litt, New York Times bestselling author Donald Trump isn’t a despot. But he is increasingly acting like The Despot’s Apprentice, an understudy …

The World as It Is: A Memoir of the Obama White House
Books , Kindle Edition / June 5, 2018

The World as It Is: A Memoir of the Obama White House: From one of Barack Obama’s closest aides comes a revelatory behind-the-scenes account of his presidency—and how idealism can confront harsh reality and still survive—in the tradition of Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.’s A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White Hous…

Age of Greed: The Triumph of Finance and the Decline of America, 1970 to the Present
Books , Kindle Edition / May 31, 2018

A vividly told history of how greed bred America’s economic ills over the last forty years, and of the men most responsible for them.

As Jeff Madrick makes clear in a narrative at once sweeping, fast-paced, and incisive, the single-minded pursuit of huge personal wealth has been on the rise in the United States since the 1970s, led by a few individuals who have argued that self-interest guides society more effectively than community concerns. These stewards of American capitalism have insisted on the central and essential place of accumulated wealth through the booms, busts, and recessions of the last half-century, giving rise to our current woes.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!